Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Dodgers select shortstop Corey Seager with first-round pick

Corey Seager
The Dodgers sent out this press release last night -

 The Los Angeles Dodgers today selected Northwest Cabarrus High School (Concord, NC) shortstop Corey Seager with their first-round pick (18th overall) and Puerto Rico Baseball Academy shortstop Jesmuel Valentin with the 51st overall pick in the supplemental round of the 2012 First-Year Player Draft.  Assistant General Manager, Scouting Logan White made the announcement.

Seager, a 6-foot-4, 205-pounder, batted .519 with 10 home runs and 37 RBI this season to earn a selection as the Gatorade North Carolina Baseball Player of the Year. The 18-year-old also stole 13 bases while posting a 1.062 slugging percentage and a .664 on-base percentage. The younger brother of Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager was rated by Baseball America as the top third baseman in the 2012 draft.

“We’re excited to have taken a quality young man,” said White. “He’s athletic, can hit and comes from a great family with the bloodlines we look for.”

Seager was selected for the 2010 USA Baseball 16-and-Under National Team and earned All-Tournament honors by helping Team USA win a gold medal at the Pan-American Games, batting .514 with a home run and 12 RBI in nine games.

Los Angeles drafted a position player with its first selection for the first time since taking James Loney with the 19th overall pick in 2002.

Valentin, 18, is the son of former Dodger infielder Jose Valentin, who played 16 Major League seasons, including the 2005 campaign with Los Angeles. The 5-foot-10, 175-pound switch-hitter was a 2011 Under Armour All-American and Baseball America’s top-rated second baseman heading into the draft.

Below are the Dodgers’ first-round selections since the start of the draft in 1965:

1965   John Wyatt (INF)
1966   Larry Hutton (RHP)
1967   Don Denbow (INF)
1968   Bobby Valentine (OF)
1969   Terry McDermott (C)
1970   Jim Haller (RHP)
1971   Rick Rhoden (RHP)
1972   John Harbin (INF)
1973   Ted Farr (C)
1974   Rick Sutcliffe (RHP)
1975   Mark Bradley (INF)
1976   Mike Scioscia (C)
1977   Bob Welch (RHP)
1978   None
1979   Steve Howe (LHP)
           Steve Perry (RHP)
1980   Ross Jones (INF)
1981   Dave Anderso  (INF)
1982   Franklin Stubbs (1B)
1983   Erik Sonberg (LHP)
1984   Dennis Livingston (RHP)
1985   Chris Gwynn (OF)
1986   Mike White (OF)
1987   Dan Opperman (RHP)
1988   Bill Bene (RHP)
1989   Kiki Jones (RHP)
           Tom Goodwin (OF)
           Jamie McAndrew* (RHP)
1990   Ronnie Walden (LHP)
1991   None
1992   Ryan Luzinski* (C)
           Michael Moore* (OF)
1993   Darren Dreifort (RHP)
1994   Paul Konerko (C)
1995   David Yocum (LHP)
1996   Damian Rolls (INF)
1997   Glenn Davis (1B)
1998   Bubba Crosby (OF)
1999   Jason Repko* (INF)
2000   Ben Diggins (RHP)
2001   None
2002   James Loney (1B)
           Greg Miller* (LHP)
2003   Chad Billingsley (RHP)
2004   Scott Elbert (LHP)
           Blake DeWitt (3B)
           Justin Orenduff* (RHP)
2005   Luke Hochevar* (RHP)
2006   Clayton Kershaw (LHP)
           Bryan Morris* (RHP)
           Preston Mattingly* (INF)
2007   Chris Withrow (RHP)
           James Adkins* (LHP)
2008   Ethan Martin (RHP)
2009   Aaron Miller* (LHP)
2010   Zach Lee (RHP)
2011   Chris Reed (LHP)
2012   Corey Seager (SS)
           Jesmuel Valentin (SS)*
* First-round supplemental pick

No comments: