Monday, October 3, 2011

Matt Kemp named Dodger nominee for 2011 Hank Aaron Award

Matt Kemp has to win this easily.

From the Dodgers -


Fan Voting Begins Today at; Award Recognizes Most Outstanding Offensive Performers in Each League

Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that Matt Kemp was named the Dodger nominee for the 2011 Hank Aaron Award.

Fan voting begins today exclusively online at and the 30 Club sites. For the second straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

In his fourth full Major League campaign, Kemp, 27, put together one of the best all-around offensive seasons in Major League history. In addition to a Triple Crown chase that came down to the final week of the season, Kemp finished just one home run shy of becoming the fifth player in Major League history to hit at least 40 home runs and steal at least 40 bases in the same season.

Kemp finished the season ranked among the National League’s top four in batting average (.324, 3rd), home runs (39, 1st), RBI (126, 1st), runs (115, 1st), stolen bases (40, T-2nd), on-base percentage (.399, 4th), slugging percentage (.586, 2nd), hits (195, 2nd), multi-hit games (57, T-1st) and total bases (353, 1st). The 2011 All-Star became the first Dodger ever to lead the NL in homers, RBI and runs scored and just the seventh player in history to finish the season ranked in the top three in homers, average, RBI and steals in their respective league, joining Hall of Famers Ty Cobb (1907, 1909, 1910, 1911), Honus Wagner (1908), George Sisler (1920), Chuck Klein (1932), Willie Mays (1955) and Hank Aaron (1963) as the only players to accomplish this feat.

This year, the Hall of Fame panel will include two new members – personally selected by Hank Aaron – Roberto Alomar and Joe Morgan.  They join panelists from last year, which included Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Willie McCovey, Billy Williams and Robin Yount, forming a group comprised of some of the greatest offensive players of all-time.  These Hall of Famers – who combined for 23,536 hits, 11,445 RBI and exactly 2,800 home runs – have all agreed to join Hank Aaron in lending their expertise to select the best offensive performers in each League.

Beginning today and continuing through Sunday, October 9, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2011 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2011 World Series.
The complete list of finalists for the 2011 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League
National League
Baltimore Orioles
J.J. Hardy
Arizona Diamondbacks
Justin Upton
Boston Red Sox
Adrian Gonzalez
Atlanta Braves
Brian McCann
Chicago White Sox
Paul Konerko
Chicago Cubs
Aramis Ramirez
Cleveland Indians
Asdrubal Cabrera
Cincinnati Reds
Joey Votto
Detroit Tigers
Miguel Cabrera
Colorado Rockies
Troy Tulowitzki
Kansas City Royals
Alex Gordon
Florida Marlins
Mike Stanton
LA Angels of  Anaheim
Mark Trumbo
Houston Astros
Carlos Lee
Minnesota Twins
Michael Cuddyer
Los Angeles Dodgers
Matt Kemp
New York Yankees
Curtis Granderson
Milwaukee Brewers
Ryan Braun
Oakland Athletics
Josh Willingham
New York Mets
Jose Reyes
Seattle Mariners
Dustin Ackley
Philadelphia Phillies
Ryan Howard
Tampa Bay Rays
Evan Longoria
Pittsburgh Pirates
Andrew McCutchen
Texas Rangers
Michael Young
St. Louis Cardinals
Albert Pujols
Toronto Blue Jays
Jose Bautista
San Diego Padres
Cameron Maybin

San Francisco Giants
Pablo Sandoval

Washington Nationals
Michael Morse

 Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Jose Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.

Click here to vote!

No comments: