Thursday, October 21, 2010

2011 Latino Baseball Hall of Fame - Fernando Valenzuela

I haven't seen this news in any of the Dodgers blogs or local mainstream media. (If I'm wrong, sorry) So I was surprised to read this.

Last week, the Latino Baseball Hall of Fame announced that Fernando Valenzuela will be inducted into their HOF next year.

This is the second year class.

From {linked here}

Making up the "Contemporaries" group were pitchers Luis Tiant (born in Cuba), Fernando Valenzuela (Mexico) and Dennis Martinez (Nicaragua), catcher Manny Sanguillen (Panama), designated hitter Edgar Martinez (Puerto Rico), outfielder Rico Carty (Dominican Republic) and first baseman Andres Galarraga (Venezuela). 

The "Veterans Committee" honorees were Adolfo Luque (Cuba), Chile Gomez (Mexico), Hector Lopez (Panama), Horacio Martinez (Dominican Republic) and Vidal Lopez (Venezuela).

The Latino Hall of Fame, which has the support of Major League Baseball, also enshrined a promoter, Venezuela's Oscar Negro Prieto, and handed out a couple of awards. Late Yankees owner George Steinbrenner won the Tommy Lasorda Award, given to a non-Latin figure who helps enhance Latin America's presence in the Majors, and Alex Rodriguez, who hit his 600th home run this season, took the LBHF Excellence Award. 

The Latino Baseball Hall of Fame was founded, thanks to the joint efforts of Weill, a Cuban-born international entrepreneur, and Rafael Avila, the Dodgers' Latin American scout who founded the first MLB Academy in the Dominican Republic, to honor the best Latinos in baseball and house their evidence and mementos of their accomplishments. 

The Hall is headquartered in the Dominican Republic, at the Altos de Chavon at Casa de Campo in La Romana.

Congratulations Fernando. I do wonder why he wasn't selected in the inaugural year.

The 2010 class  were Roberto Clemente (Puerto Rico), Juan Marichal (Dominican Republic), Luis Aparicio (Venezuela), Rod Carew (Panama), Orlando Cepeda (Puerto Rico), Tony Perez (Cuba), Martin Dihigo (Cuba), Jose de la Caridad Mendez (Cuba), Cristobal Torriente (Cuba), executive Alejandro Pompez (Cuba), journalist Eloy "Buck" Canel (Argentina), broadcaster Jaime Jarrin (Ecuador) and broadcaster Felo Ramirez (Cuba).

From the "Veterans Committee" (for those active before 1959) came Pancho Coimbre (Puerto Rico), Beto Avila (Mexico), Alfonso Carrasquel (Venezuela), Tetelo Vargas (Dominican) and Orestes Minoso (Cuba).

The "Permanent Induction Committee" (active after '59) sent Roberto Alomar (Puerto Rico), Dave Concepcion (Venezuela), Felipe Alou (Dominican), Camilo Pascual (Cuba) and Hector Espino (Mexico) to the Hall.

I guess I know why now, that's a great group. 

The new class set to be inducted on Feb. 12, 2011.